Recognizing our Coaches

New Jersey boasts many a great cheerleading program and with that could not be possible without the incredible coaches who invaluably lead, support and guide these teams through more than just wins and losses. It is our pleasure to offer two ways to honor the great men and woman who have made lasting contributions to cheerleading in the state of NJ.


NJ Coaches Recognition Award


The NJCDCA would like to recognize outstanding Cheerleading and Dance Coaches across the state! This is a great opportunity to recognize the contributions your coach has made to your cheerleading/dance program, school and community. This recognition award is for any current cheerleading/dance coaches(s) within your district.


Nominations will only be accepted from any school Principal, Vice Principal, Athletic Director, or another Cheerleading Coach.


Note to Parents: If you would like your coach to be nominated for the Recognition Award, please contact your School Administrator.


It is our hope to acknowledge the efforts and commitment of our coaches in New Jersey. Please send your recommendations along with your name, title, school's name and phone number no later than March 15 of the current year to:

Kim Gaskin
245 Linden Street, Moorestown, NJ 08057



Jayne Shalkowski Memorial “Leave a Legacy” Coaches Award

Jayne Shalkowski was a Guidance Counselor and Cheerleading Coach at Saint John Vianney High School in Holmdel, NJ for 40 years. She began coaching at SJV in 1979 and went on to coach the college team at Montclair State University beginning in 2008. The name Jayne Shalkowski is synonymous in New Jersey with cheerleading excellence. Not just for competitive teams and State & National Championships, but for sportsmanship. Jayne brought class, honor, and friendship to the sport of Cheerleading.

Jayne began her career when competition cheering was in its infancy. In those days, coaches relied upon one another implicitly to get things off the ground. There were no “rules”, competitions or camps. As the sport grew and the industry began, Jayne was on the forefront and her teams led the way. Other coaches would seek her out. Jayne was always available with her wisdom, great sense of humor, and infectious smile.

This Coach’s Award is in honor of Jayne’s passion, commitment, and dedication, as well as her desire to always move every individual cheerleader in a forward direction. A tough competitor, she was nonetheless, a friend to all.

The successful candidate will possess each of the following qualities:

• Be a member in good standing of the New Jersey Cheerleading and Dance Coaches Association
• Be an active Coach for a minimum of 7 or more years in a New Jersey High School
• Possess an established reputation within the cheerleading community for excellence in coaching
• Promote good sportsmanship throughout the cheerleading community
• Lead by example within the New Jersey cheerleading community

Selection Process:
• The NJCDCA will confirm the submitted nominees meet the award criteria and requirements
• Candidates will be voted on by the NJCDCA Membership
• The winner(s) will be announced and recognized at NJCDCA State Championship Competition

Please submit all nominations by December 15 of the current year
Email with any questions.



2020 NJ Coaches Recognition Awards Winners

Jennifer Sutter DeWire: Voorhees HS

Sara Yocum: Metuchen HS


2019 NJ Coaches Recognition Awards Winners

Sara Krainski: Sayreville War Memorial HS

Nicole Laube: Saddle Brook HS

Noreen Stansberry: Delaware Valley Regional HS

Krista Tripodi: West Milford HS


2018 NJ Coaches Recognition Awards Winners

Angelina Merced: Passaic HS

Olivia DelSpina: West Orange HS

Brianna Blauner: West Orange HS

Taylor Calixto: West Orange HS


2017 NJ Coaches Recognition Awards Winners

Dana Aufiero: New Milford HS


2016 NJ Coaches Recognition
Awards Winners

Lauren Del Rosso: Hunterdon Central HS

Deanna Markovitch: Howell High HS

Lisa Clotter: Burlington Township Recreation

Danica Dilligard: Burlington Township Recreation


2013 NJ Coaches Recognition
Awards Winners

Kelly Supp:  Red Bank Catholic HS


2012 NJ Coaches Recognition
Awards Winners

Heather Messer:  Paramus Catholic HS

Judy Nelson: Washington Township HS

Kelly Zuccarelli:  Lacey Township HS


2011 NJ Coaches Recognition
Awards Winners

Shannon Smith:  Barnegat HS Cheerleading Coach

Michelle Clerico:  Barnegat HS Dance Coach



2010 NJ Coaches Recognition
Awards Winners

Jayne Shalkowski:  St. John Vianney HS



Related Forms ▼





1) To nominate a coach for the

NJ Coaches Recognition Form



2) To nominate a coach for the

Jayne Shalkowski Memorial “Leave a Legacy” Coaches Award

Click here to complete the Google Application form.






Please note:

By clicking on the Form, an Adobe Acrobat file will open within a new browser window. To print the form, click on "File" from the top menu and select "Print". To return to this page, close the window.


If you don't see a form appear, you need the Adobe Acrobat plug-in. To get Acrobat please click here








All content on this website is copyrighted and is the property of NJCDCA
© Copyright 2009 - 2010




Tat Communication Inc